Stillagaumish Valley Genealogical Society

Our Mission

To promote an interest in genealogy through education; to instruct members in genealogical research and preservation of their own family histories; to locate, preserve and index public and private genealogical records and make them available to members and the general public; to support other genealogical libraries throughout Washington State; and to provide current updates to members and the public regarding projects and upcoming speakers and events in our bi-monthly newsletter.

Operating Year: June 2017 - May 2018

President: Ruth Caesar
Vice President: Shirley Case
Vice President of the Library: Stephen Baylor
Secretary: Michele Cozad
Treasurer: Larry Taylor
Conference Chair: Phil Bartlow
Conference Chair: Lisa Bartlow
Education Chair: Stephen Baylor
Membership Chair: Joanne Wetmore
Newsletter Chair: Kathryn Bowman
Publications Chair: Sue Walde
Publications Chair: Helen Eliason
Publicity Chair: Pamela Liebelt
Tombstone Project Chair: Larry Taylor
Ways & Means Chair: Michele Cozad
Ways & Means Chair: Larry Taylor
Website Chair: Erica Madsen
Hospitality Chair: Dee Saunders
Hospitality Chair: Anne Grimm
Past President: Kay Crabtree
Library Director: Stephen Baylor
Assistant Librarian: Pamela Liebelt
Assistant Librarian: Mary Buzzell
Assistant Librarian: Anne Grimm
Assistant Librarian: Marietta Roth
Assistant Librarian: Dee Saunders
Assistant Librarian: Leilani Wallace
Assistant Librarian: Ann Curtis
Assistant Librarian: Larry Taylor
Assistant Librarian: Jennifer Strickland
Librarian: Kathy Stuehrenberg
Librarian: Joanne Wetmore
Librarian: Helen Eliason
Librarian: Ruth Caesar
Librarian: Sue Walde
Librarian: Michele Cozad
Librarian: Erica Madsen
Librarian: LeeRoy Kind
Librarian: Flynn Clarke Kennedy
Librarian: Ellen Davis
Librarian: Kay Crabtree
Librarian: Shirley Case
Librarian: Rocky Lamb
Ways & Means: Michele Cozad
Ways & Means: Larry Taylor
Chair: Joanne Wetmore
Editor: Kathryn Bowman
Editor: Helen Eliason
Genealogist: Mary Buzzell
Web Maintenance: Erica Madsen

Our Founder

The Society was founded by Marietta J. Colbern-Roth in 1985 and was incorporated as a non-profit organization one year later. It was through her efforts that a genealogical interest group met and decided to form an official Society. In 1987, Marietta was elected to serve as the first President and has maintained an active role in the society since then.

She has participated in countless research projects and has sheparded many manuscripts from the idea stage to the final publication. In addition, our annual yard sale and fund raiser was held at her home along State Highway 9 for many years. Marietta currently serves the Society as President Emeritus.